Annually SAINT awards achievers and extraordinary role players in the Non-Destructive Testing industry (NDT). The 2016 SAINT Awards were held alongside the SAINT Annual General Meeting at Casa Toscana, Pretoria, on November 18.

The 2016 awards were presented in five categories: Best Research Projects and for the first time; Best Instructor, Best Technician, Best Lecturer and Best Student.

The winner of the Lew Wells Trophy, presented by Lew Wells’ daughter Robyn Thompson, was Mark Digby. Mark began his career in NDT at the age of 19, earning only R450.00 a month. Mark now works for the South African Institute of Welding in Johannesburg as the Non-destructive Testing Manager.

Mark Digby with Lew Wells’ daughter, Robyn Thompson

Frikkie de Beer was awarded the H. Rohloff Trophy for the Best Research Projects having demonstrated his understanding of the importance of accurate research and the impact it has on the industry.

Frikkie de Beer – Chief Scientist, Neutron Radiography and Section Leader: Radiography and Tomography at the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation, accepts his Award from SAINT President Keith Cain.

The Best Technician Award was won by Henco Dickson who received the Marco Smit Trophy for his efforts. Best Lecturer was awarded to Wayne Claassens who was newly elected as the Honourary Secretary of Saint.

Robin Marshall accepts the Best Technician Award on behalf of Henco Dickson.

Mpho Phaahla who works at Transnet Rail Engineering as a Quality Controller walked away with the SAINT Professional Body for NDT (SPBNDT) Trophy for the Best Student award. Mpho says his love for the NDT industry is what drives him, all he needs to contribute is his focus. He says, “I would like to attribute this accomplishment to hard work, which was motivated by different people” he added. Mpho went on to thank Justice Bisholo (Business Manager at Transnet), Don Maughan (NDT Instructor at School of Applied Non-Destructive Examination – SANDE), Phillip Skelton (Senior Instructor at SANDE) and Herman Lourens (NDT Instructor at SANDE).

Mpho Phaahla accepts his Best Student Award

Best Lectu